2016 Section Award Winners

2016 Section Award Winners

Each year the Northern Texas PGA Section recognizes its members and others in the golf community through the NTPGA Awards program. On behalf of the Northern Texas PGA Awards Committee and past Presidents of the Section, below are the 2016 Section Award Winners.

PGA Member Awards

  • Golf Professional of the Year – Lindy Miller, Shady Oaks Country Club, Fort Worth
  • Assistant Golf Professional of the Year – Clif Nelson, Royal Oaks Country Club, Dallas
  • Randy Smith Youth Player Development Award – Chad Moscovic, Stonebridge Ranch Country Club, McKinney
  • Teacher of the Year – Troy Denton, Maridoe Golf Club, Dallas
  • Merchandiser of the Year Private Category – Ben Burns, Crown Colony Country Club, Lufkin
  • Merchandiser of the Year Public Category – George Priolo, Comanche Trail Golf Course, Amarillo
  • Distinguished Service Award – Bob Elliott, PGA Life Member
  • Horton Smith Award – Stephen Aumock, Gleneagles Country Club, Plano 
  • Bill Strausbaugh Award – Sherwin Cox, Ross Rogers Golf Course, Amarillo
  • Player Development Award – Jake McCullough, Odessa Country Club, Odessa
  • Yamaha Golf-Car Company / Lajitas Golf Resort Player of the Year – Stuart Deane, University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington
  • Ben Hogan / NTPGA Stroke Play Average Award – Greg Gregory, Hidden Creek Golf Course, Burleson
  • OMEGA Senior Points Challenge Winner – Paul Norris, Texas Wesleyan University, Fort Worth

Non-PGA Member Awards

  • Bob Galt Award (Media) – Lance Lahnert, Amarillo Globe-News
  • Byron Nelson Award (Amateur) – Joe Bob Joyce, Joyce Crane
  • Leon Faucett Award (Sales Representative) – Mike Summerville, Titleist
  • Golf Course Superintendent Award – Kevin Nettles, Dallas Athletic Club, Dallas
The Awards Committee consists of NTPGA Section President, Tony Martinez; Committee Chair, Courtney Connell and PGA Committee Members, Jason Daly, Sean Hanson, Keith Harris, Scott McClinton, Jake McCullough, Ira McGraw Jr., Robert McMillan, Chad Pearson, Brent Thaxton and Erik Wait.
The Section Awards Banquet is scheduled for Sunday, February 19, 2017.