"the experts in the game and business of golf"

Texas Women's Open

Rolling Hills Country Club to Host 2014 Texas Women's Open

The Northern Texas PGA is pleased to announce that Rolling Hills Country Club will host the 2014 Texas Women's Open July 8-9.

The tradition-rich tournament, first played in 1935, features top amateur and professional female golfers from not only Texas, but in recent years from 20 states and 14 countries. Players in the Championship will test their skill and ability on the 6,333-yard, par 71 layout. 

Rolling Hills Country Club recently completed a golf course renovation and reopened in October 2013.  Colligan Golf Design added additional length, bunkers, re-routed the layout, added mini verde to the greens and 419 to the fairways and tees to create a visually appealing and a very enjoyable test of golf of players of all skill levels.

"The Texas Women’s Open has a long and storied history with many great champions and wonderful host sites. It is fitting that an event of this stature will be played at Rolling Hills Country Club," said Mark Harrison, Executive Director of the Northern Texas PGA.  "John Colligan did an exceptional job with the redesign and I am confident that the competitors in this year’s Championship will be thoroughly impressed with all that Rolling Hills has to offer. The membership at the club has embraced hosting the event and looks forward to providing hospitality and service, second to none.  I firmly believe that Rolling Hills Country Club will provide a very fair, yet challenging test and is suited for the high-caliber championship play of the Texas Women’s Open."

The 36-hole stroke play event with no cut will be limited to the first 144 professional and amateur contestants. The field will include the following exempt players if they choose to participate: Past champions; the top 15 professionals and ties from the 2013 Texas Women's Open; and the top 10 amateurs and ties from the 2013 Texas Women's Open.

Women age 50 and older will have the option to compete in either the Open or Senior Division.  The Senior Division will feature a separate set of tees as well as a Senior Division purse based on the amount of total entries received.

"The Texas Women's Open has such a storied history and a past champions list that reads like a 'who's who' in Texas golf," says Brett Frazier, President of Rolling Hills Country Club. "We are honored to host this year’s Championship.”

The official entry form for The 2014 Texas Women's Open at Rolling Hills Country Club will be available in May. Entry fees for the event are as follows: Amateurs - $200; LPGA Members and PGA Members and Apprentices - $250; Non-affiliate professionals/Futures Tour players - $300. The entry deadline will be Thursday, July 3 at 5:00 p.m. CDT. All entries must be received by the Northern Texas PGA via mail, facsimile, overnight carrier, or in person by this time. Online entries will also be accepted at www.ntpga.com.

The 2014 Texas Women's Open is presented by Volvik. Since 2012, players using Volvik's ultra high-performance color golf balls have earned over $5 million on the LPGA Tour, Web.com Tour, Ladies European Tour, LAGT and Symetra Tour with 10 victories and over 60 Top 10 finishes. They have also recently signed Craig Stadler, Larry Nelson and Tim Petrovic to their staff to join the already 10 LPGA Tour players playing their golf balls. For more information on Volvik, please visit their website at www.volvik.com. 

The 2014 Texas Women’s Open will benefit SafeHaven, a Tarrant County-based organization that serves families affected by domestic violence.

About the Texas Women's Open
The Women's Texas Open was played from 1935 - 1955. Over the span of two decades, the event was held 17 times - 13 years at River Crest Country Club and four years at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth. The event was conducted by the Fort Worth Women's Golf Association, supervised by River Crest's longtime professional A.G. Mitchell, and was last played in 1955. Some of the game's greatest names captured the event including Babe Zaharias who won the title five times, Aniela Goldthwaite, a three-time winner, and Betsy Rawls, Beverly Hanson, Polly Riley, and Betty Jameson who each captured the title twice. The event was revived in 2001 by the Northern Texas PGA to promote the game to female golfers throughout the region and the name was changed to the Texas Women's Open.

About Rolling Hills Country Club
In 1954, local golfing families in the area got together and decided to form a country club.  After acquiring the necessary land, the club was able to begin construction on the first nine holes in early 1955. By 1962 the course had been enlarged to 18 holes. In May 2001, the club moved into a 17,000 square foot facility encompassing a golf shop, restaurant and banquet room, locker rooms and private member areas.  Today, Rolling Hills boasts of some of the best greens and fairways in the Metroplex with a complete renovation just being completed by Colligan Golf Design. For more information on Rolling Hills Country Club: (817) 274-1072, http://www.rolling-hills.net.

Also, the Texas Women’s Open is on Facebook. Like us now!

presented by: