Back To News

2017 Northern Texas PGA Section Award Winners Announced, Tony Martinez Named Golf Professional of the Year

November 17th, 2017

Each year the Northern Texas PGA Section recognizes its members and others in the golf community through the NTPGA Awards program. On behalf of the Northern Texas PGA Awards Committee and past Presidents of the Section, it is my pleasure to announce the 2017 Section Award Winners.

PGA Member Awards
Golf Professional of the Year – Tony Martinez, Keeton Park Golf Course, Dallas

Distinguished Service Award – Joe Black, PGA Life Member

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year – Ryan Osgood, Odessa Country Club, Odessa

Teacher of the Year – Jon Sinclair, Sinclair’s Golf Training Center, Euless

 Randy Smith Youth Player Development Award – Jon Antunes, Hot Golf Academy, Waco
Player Development Award (Growth of the Game) – Robert McMillan, McMillan Golf Academy, Colleyville

Horton Smith Award (Education / Building the Image of a PGA Professional) – Aaron Bonvillion, Golf Academy of America, Dallas

Bill Strausbaugh Award (Club Relations, Employment and Mentoring) – Cameron Doan, Preston Trail Golf Club, Dallas

Merchandiser of the Year Private Category – Simon Buckle, Brook Hollow Golf Club, Dallas

Merchandiser of the Year Public Category – Brent Lingel, Keeton Park Golf Course, Dallas

Merchandiser of the Year Resort Category – Kevin Golding, Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas, Irving

Yamaha Golf-Car Company / Lajitas Golf Resort Player of the Year – Brian Norman, Gleneagles Country Club, Plano

Ben Hogan / NTPGA Stroke Play Average Award – Ben Kern, Diamondback Golf Club, Abilene

OMEGA Senior Points Challenge Winners – Stuart Hendley, Grapevine Golf Course, Grapevine & Bruce Smith, Black Belt Golf Academy, Frisco 

Non-PGA Member Awards
Bob Galt Award (Media) – Art Stricklin, Author and Magazine Contributor

Byron Nelson Award (Amateur) – Gary Sleeper, Lajitas Golf Resort

Leon Faucett Award (Sales Representative) – Jenny Champion, Cutter & Buck

Golf Course Superintendent Award – Mike Spraberry, The Golf Club of Dallas, Dallas

The Awards Committee consists of NTPGA Section President, Tony Martinez; Committee Chair, Courtney Connell and PGA Committee Members, Marc Wielgosz, Sean Hanson, Keith Harris, Scott McClinton, Jake McCullough, Ira McGraw Jr., Robert McMillan, Chad Pearson, Brent Thaxton and Erik Wait.
The Section President’s Dinner is scheduled for Sunday, February 18, 2018.