Back To News

Ewing Charity Classic Benefits NTPGA Junior Golf Foundation, PGA Professional Takes Home Car Thanks to Ewing Automotive Group

November 26th, 2018

DALLAS, TEXAS – The 13th Annual Ewing Charity Classic, a fundraising golf tournament conducted by the Northern Texas PGA for the benefit of the Northern Texas PGA Junior Golf Foundation, was held today at Brook Hollow Golf Club in Dallas. This year’s event raised $230,000. 
The Ewing Charity Classic, formerly the Westcott Pro-Am, is widely considered one of the most special and unique events in the country with $4.29 million raised during the past 23 years for the benefit of the Northern Texas PGA Junior Golf Foundation's broad-based community outreach programs. 
The Ewing Charity Classic featured 22 teams consisting of three amateurs, a PGA TOUR, Tour or LPGA Tour player and a PGA of America golf professional. Past and present tour stars that participated in this year’s event included Rich Beem, Chad Campbell, Irene Coe, Martin Flores, Harrison Frazar, Cody Gribble, Hunter Haas, Todd Hamilton, Paul Haley II, J.J. Henry, Kelly Kraft, Edward Loar III, Keith Mitchell, Carlos Ortiz, Ryan Palmer, Gerina Piller, Martin Piller, Tag Ridings, Scottie Scheffler, Conrad Shindler, Paul Stankowski and Will Zalatoris.
Professionals Ryan Palmer and Dow Finsterwald, Jr. who teamed with amateurs Mike Biggs, Jeff Bookout and James Edmondson carded a 17-under par, 125, to capture this year’s Ewing Charity Classic by one stroke.
Following the event, the local PGA golf professionals who participated competed in a “Closest to the Hole Shootout” contest to take home a car provided by Mr. Fin Ewing, III, Owner of The Ewing Automotive Group.  The car up for grabs was displayed in front of the 10th green at Brook Hollow Golf Club after play. With the night sky lit by floodlights, 23 PGA professionals had one shot from 124 yards to land their ball closest to the hole. 
Carl Worley Jr., PGA head professional at Hide-A-Way Golf Club, took home a black 2019 Mercedes Benz GLC 300 after hitting an 9-iron, 124 yards, reaching 8 feet, ½ inch from the hole. Ronny Glanton, PGA head professional at Sherrill Park Golf Course, finished in second place hitting his ball 9 feet, 3 inches to take home $2,500. 
“I’ve played this tournament about five times,” said Worley, Jr., after the shootout. “What Mr. Ewing does for [the NTPGA] Junior Golf [Foundation] is amazing. We had a great time today, and this car is just a bonus. Thank you so much! Go Mr. Ewing!”
The contest was Mr. Ewing’s idea as a way to not only help raise funds for the Northern Texas PGA Junior Golf Foundation, but also to say a special thank you to the PGA professionals who participate in the event. In 2012 it was so well received that Mr. Ewing decided to keep the shootout going and has given away a car each year since. 
The Ewing Automotive Group, is headquartered at 6425 Dallas Parkway in Plano, Texas, is owned and operated by Fin Ewing, III. The Ewing Automotive Group owns Mercedes-Benz of Plano and Ewing Buick GMC. A special thank you goes out to Mr. Ewing and all he has done for the Northern Texas PGA, our local PGA Professionals, junior golfers in North Texas and the game of golf.
Photo of Mr. Fin Ewing III (left) and Northern Texas PGA President Ronny Glanton (right) is attached.
Final results follow. The scoring format was the low net-ball of the three amateurs added to the professional team (listed in bold) score playing a modified alternate stroke. Complete results follow (professional score – amateur score – total).
Place Team Scores
1 Jeff Bookout 65-60--125
James Edmondson 
Mike Biggs 
Ryan Palmer / Dow Finsterwald Jr.
T2 Duane Barnett 68-58--126
John Barnett 
Tommy Yetts 
Conrad Shindler / Kevin Golding
T2 Tim Buford 61-65--126
Kurt Petersen 
Frank Borgsmiller 
Paul Haley II / Jeff Barton 
4 Bill Duvall 66-62--128
Chase Posper
Seth Johnston 
Rich Beem / Cameron Doan
T5 Jeff Kesler 66-64--130
Jerry Slagle 
Robert Hayes 
Cody Gribble / Gilbert Freeman
T5 Lou Paletta 66-64--130
Ralph Searfoss 
Chris Bardasian 
Tag Ridings / Britt Patton
T7 Robert Allday 68-67--135
Bennie Bray 
Jim Greenwood 
Kelly Kraft / Troy Denton 
T7 Mark Griege 69-66--135
Jay Danzi 
Joe Nolan 
Chad Campbell / Charlie Mack
T7 Neal Feibel 69-66--135
Bruce Hershey 
Curt Crozier 
J.J. Henry / Courtney Connell
T7 Will Monroe 70-65--135
Hill Perot 
Rod Jones 
Harrison Frazar / Richie Hare
T11 Eric Oliver 70-66--136
Jon Morgan 
Mark Anthony 
Will Zalatoris / Ronny Glanton
T11 Sam Marynick 73-63--136
Dave Ridley 
Brian Honea 
Martin Piller / Philip Bleakney
13 Charlie McKinney 69-68--137
David Kelton
Steve West 
Carlos Ortiz / Brett Beaty
T14 Harold Carter 71-67--138
Jay Carvell 
Jay Dyer 
Ed Loar III / Bryan Nicholson 
T14 Dean Woodward 74-64--138
Keith Moyes 
Joe Bob Joyce
Todd Hamilton / Chris Martinez
T14 Dan Garrett 73-65--138
JJ Gomez 
Paul Ritter 
Martin Flores / Todd Harbour
T17 Finley Ewing IV 76-68--140
Bry Patton 
Harrison Holmes 
Keith Mitchell / Simon Buckle
T17 Doug Brooks 73-67--140
Kyle Brooks
Taylor Brooks
Gerina Piller / Dean Larsson
19 Marc Goldman 71-70--141
John Carver
Grant Henson 
Irene Coe / Mark Bober
20 Mike McKinley 73-69--142
Mark Todd 
Ted Daniel 
Scottie Scheffler / Clif Nelson
21 Jerry Ransom 75-68--143
Keith Bonham 
Scott Wagoner 
Hunter Haas / Carl Worley Jr.
22 Neil Grossman 71-73--144
John Adams 
Lew Friedland 
Paul Stankowski / Tim Cusick
#### END####