Back To News

Northern Texas PGA Announces Levy Cup Team

September 17th, 2018

DALLAS, Texas – Following the completion of the Joyce Crane / Veritex Bank Section Championship, 12 members were named to the Northern Texas PGA Levy Cup team.  This year, the Southern Texas PGA will host the event from October 15-16 at Briggs Ranch Golf Club in San Antonio, Texas. Serving as NTPGA Co-Captains for the event will be Jim Stalder, PGA Life Member Active, and Shane Pearce, PGA assistant professional at Hurricane Creek Country Club.

The Northern Texas PGA team includes:
Todd Balkin, Royal Oaks Country Club – first appearance 
Thomas Devanna, Tangle Ridge Golf Club – second appearance
Jordan Ferguson, The Vaquero Club – first appearance
Greg Gregory, Hidden Creek Golf Course – second appearance
Shane Pearce, Hurricane Creek Country Club – second appearance
Corey Roberson, Preston Trail Golf Club – second appearance

Henry Cagigal, Rockwood Golf Course – second appearance (his first appearance was as an assistant)
Jim Henderson, Stevens Park Golf Course – first appearance
Stuart Hendley, Dallas Athletic Club – first appearance
Robert McMillan, McMillan Golf Academy – second appearance
John Shelley, Golf Academy of America Dallas – first appearance
Bruce Smith, Black Belt Golf Academy – second appearance

The Levy Cup Matches were created in 2017 and are contested much like the Texas Joe Black Cup Matches.  The Levy Cup team consists of six NTPGA Assistant Professionals (A-8 only) and six NTPGA Senior Members (any classification) competing against a Southern Texas PGA team comprised of the same classifications.

Last year, Team STPGA captured the inaugural matches with a 14-10 victory. Team NTPGA is looking to bounce back next month and draw the Matches record level at one apiece. 

The Ryder Cup style format features professionals from each Section competing in Four-Ball and Foursome Matches the first day followed by Singles Matches the final day. These Matches were created to celebrate PGA of America President Paul Levy who is completing his final year of a two-year term as President of The PGA of America.

Please visit for more information.